October 2014
SMTWTFS
2829301234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930311
2345678

10/31/2014
Ensemble Rehearsal

Home - Student Services - Academic Advising

Academic Advising

Through academic advising, advisors assist students in selecting the appropriate courses to meet their academic goals and provide support in developing career goals, registering for courses, understanding college policies, and connecting to campus resources. LBWCC has academic advisors on all campuses. Every student at LBWCC is assigned an academic advisor, and students are required to meet with that individual for their initial registration. Academic advising is performed by counselors and faculty, with advisee assignments based upon the students program of study. Counselors, division chairs, and full-time faculty members serve as academic advisors. This procedure is designed to create a mentoring relationship between advisor and advisee, as the student retains the same advisor throughout his or her time at LBWCC except when a change of program or transfer major requires a change of advisor in order to better serve the student.



Advisors in the associate in arts and associate in science degree programs work with their advisees to follow the Statewide Transfer and Articulation Reporting System (STARS) guide and the 2 to 4 Transfer Program in planning student schedules, thereby ensuring transfer of courses to any other public institution in the state as well as private institutions. For transfer to other institutions, the advisor and student employ the catalog of the intended transfer institution. Counselors advise students who have not declared a major and faculty in transfer programs advise students who have declared a major. Faculty in non-transfer programs of study advise their students. Initially, advisors meet with distance learners and provide information to online Distance Education academic advising via the LBWCC website. Various means of telecommunication (phone, internet, email, etc.) are also utilized to serve distance learners.


Andalusia Campus

Ballew, Abbie

Administration Building

(334) 881-2230

aballew@lbwcc.edu

Bess, John

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2254

jbess@lbwcc.edu

Boothe, Rachel

Administration Building

(334) 881-2285

rboothe@lbwcc.edu

Brewer, Johnny

Dixon Conference Center

(334) 881-2238

jbrewer@lbwcc.edu

Carpenter, John

Administration Building

(334) 881-2235

jcarpenter@lbwcc.edu

Cook, Diaon

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2256

dcook@lbwcc.edu

Cross, Mary

Administration Building

(334) 881-2286

mpcross@lbwcc.edu

Cushing, Brian

Administration Building

(334) 881-2229

bcushing@lbwcc.edu

Day, Danita
 Child Development Building
(334) 881-2309
dday@lbwcc.edu

Evans, Shane

Administration Building

(334) 881-2234

sevans@lbwcc.edu

Franklin, Ramona

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2261

rfranklin@lbwcc.edu

Gantt, Jean

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2249

jgantt@lbwcc.edu

Godwin, Wayne

Seth Hammett Gymnasium

(334) 881-2210

wgodwin@lbwcc.edu

Gunn, Dale

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2287

dgunn@lbwcc.edu

Hall, Latrece  Jeff Bishop Student Center  (334) 881-2271
lhall@lbwcc.edu

Hubbard, Steve

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2255

shubbard@lbwcc.edu

O’Neal, Katie

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2260

koneal@lbwcc.edu

Purvis, Misti

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2250

mpurvis@lbwcc.edu

Senn, Pat

Administration Building

(334) 881-2233

psenn@lbwcc.edu

Showalter, George

Forestry Building

(334) 881-2275

gshowalter@lbwcc.edu

Thigpen, Maria

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2314

mthigpen@lbwcc.edu

Whelan, Michael

Jeff Bishop Student Center

(334) 881-2395

mwhelan@lbwcc.edu

White, Kelley

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2242

kelleyw@lbwcc.edu

White, Kristy

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2243

kwhite@lbwcc.edu

Wiggins, Nancy

Learning Resource Center

(334) 881-2288

nwiggins@lbwcc.edu

Greenville Campus

Davis, Arlene

Technology Center

(334) 383-3212

adavis@lbwcc.edu

Judah, Leann

Technology Center

(334) 383-3202

ljudah@lbwcc.edu

Hutcheson, Christy

Student Services Building

(334) 383-3111

chutcheson@lbwcc.edu

Jones, Kelly

Student Services Building

(334) 383-3112

kbjones@lbwcc.edu

Waters, Mollie

Technology Center

(334) 383-3211

msmith@lbwcc.edu

MacArthur Campus

Brawner, David

Welding / Building D

(334) 493-5354

dbrawner@lbwcc.edu

Burnett, Nancy

Nursing / Building L

(334) 493-5375

nburnett@lbwcc.edu

Bush, Olivia

Sonography / Building G

(334) 493-5345

obush@lbwcc.edu

Cain, Jason

SSS / Building I

(334) 493-5363

jcain@lbwcc.edu

Davis, Joy

Office Administration / Building A

(334) 493-5346

jdavis@lbwcc.edu

Goosby, Michelle

Transfer/Building B

(334) 493-5339

mgoosby@lbwcc.edu

Hudson, Mary Ann

Transfer / Building K

(334) 493-5314

mhudson@lbwcc.edu

Johnson, Wendy

Transfer / Building A

(334) 493-5333

wjohnson@lbwcc.edu

Lightsey, Shannon

Transfer English / Building K

(334) 493-5331

slightsey@lbwcc.edu

McCollough, Joey

Air Conditioning / Building I

(334) 493-5365

jmccollough@lbwcc.edu

McCuistian, Richard

Auto Mechanics / Building B

(334) 493-5343

rmccuistian@lbwcc.edu

McLaney, Judy

Computer Science / Building G

(334) 493-5358

jamclaney@lbwcc.edu

Musgrove, Susan

Sonography / Building G

(334) 493-5389

smusgrove@lbwcc.edu

Phillips, Lynn

Cosmetology / Building B

(334) 493-5326

lphillips@lbwcc.edu

Sauls, Denise

Esthetics & Nails / Building B

(334) 493-5328

denises@lbwcc.edu

Spann, Eddie

Diesel Mechanics / Building J

(334) 493-5322

espann@lbwcc.edu

Spurlin, Shannan

Transfer Science / Building K

(334) 493-5329

sspurlin@lbwcc.edu

Stricklin, Sharon

 Transfer/Building B

 (334) 493-5353

 swstricklin@lbwcc.edu

Teel, Allen

Industrial Electronics / Building C

(334) 493-5388

ateel@lbwcc.edu

Lurleen B. Wallace Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges or SACSCOC to award the Associate in Arts, Associate in Science, Associate in Applied Science degrees and certificates. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Lurleen B. Wallace Community College.